Alabama Department of Finance Home Page  |  Calendar of Events  |  Frequently Asked Questions  |  Contact Us     
Alabama Department of Finance Alabama Department of Finance
       Skip Navigation Links
Home Page
About Us
Board Members
Board Rules
Statutes
ATTENTION: ALL VENDORS
Forms and Instructions

Frequently Asked Questions


1. What should I send with my claim form?

2. How long do I have to file a claim with the Board?

3. Can I submit my claim by fax?

4. How long will it take to receive a check?

5. How do I change my address?

6. Why do I have to provide insurance information with my claim?

7. How can I get a copy of my claim?

8. I have filed a claim with the Board and have not heard anything. Can you tell me if you have received it?

9. How does the Board of Adjustment process my claim?

10. Can I do anything if my claim is denied?

1. What should I send with my claim form?
We need a completed claim form that includes your original signature and an original notarization with documents to support your claim, such as invoices, insurance documents, mileage records, or other proof of your claim. An additional photocopy of the claim form and all other documents should be submitted with the original.

Top of Page

2. How long do I have to file a claim with the Board?
For an occurrence resulting in death, a claim should be submitted within two years.
All other claims should be submitted within one year.

Top of Page

3. Can I submit my claim by fax?
A claim form will be accepted by fax if the date of the statute of limitations is so close that a mailed claim will be late. After a claim form is faxed for this reason, the original and supporting documents must be received in our office within ten calendar days to be accepted.

Top of Page

4. How long will it take to receive a check?
The Board of Adjustment process is a lengthy one. Do not make financial commitments planning for payment to come to you quickly through the BOA. First, the State Department will investigate your claim, and consent or deny payment based on their investigation. If they consent to pay, various signatures must be added to the payment documents before a check can be requested. Then the Department will process a check through their normal accounting procedures.

Top of Page

5. How do I change my address?
Change of address must be received in writing. Please include your assigned claim number on your note, if possible.

Top of Page

6. Why do I have to provide insurance information with my claim?Top
In making a determination of the amount to be awarded for property damage or personal injury, consideration is given to all insurance payments you have received or are entitled to receive. If an award is made, it is offset by that amount.

Top of Page


7. How can I get a copy of my claim?
Copies of everything you have submitted to the Board can be obtained for a fee in advance of $5.00 for the first ten pages and 25 cents for each additional page. Call our office for specific information of how many pages are in your claim and the total fee to be paid. We accept check or money order only, payable to Finance Legal.

Top of Page


8. I have filed a claim with the Board and have not heard anything. Can you tell me if you have received it?
We receive a large number of claims each day and at times we may not be able to process your claim immediately when received. If a reasonable length of time has passed since you mailed your claim, call our office for confirmation that your claim documents have been received. Your claim will be date-stamped with the actual date of receipt.

Top of Page

9. How does the Board of Adjustment process my claim?
Mail containing claim forms and documentation is opened daily and date-stamped for verification of date received.
The claim is reviewed for legibility, completeness of form and completeness of documentation. If the claim is complete, a claim number is assigned. If additions or corrections are needed, a request is mailed or telephoned to the claimant.

Once a claim is accepted and a number assigned, it is entered in our computer system and a letter is sent to the claimant to confirm that we received the claim and advising the claim number assigned.

A copy of the entire claim is sent to the Legal Office of the State Department concerned. They investigate the claim and make a decision if the claim should be paid. The Department answers the claim in writing with their decision, to the claimant and to the Board of Adjustment.

If the Department consents to pay, the Board creates a Payment Decree for the consented amount and circulates it with the file to the Board Members for their signatures. When the Decree and file return with signatures, copies of the Decree are forwarded to the Department to authorize processing a check. When the check is printed, the Board of Adjustment sends it to the claimant.

If a claim is denied by the State Department, it will automatically be scheduled for a hearing before the Board Members. Question #10 describes the hearing process.

Top of Page

10. Can I do anything if my claim is denied?
All claims that are denied by a State Department are automatically scheduled for a hearing before the Board Members. You will be notified by mail when the hearing on your claim is scheduled.

You may add relevant information to your claim documents up to ten days before the hearing to be considered by the Board. You may be present for the hearing, or a friend or other representative may be here in your place.

A final decision on your claim will not be made at the time of the hearing. A voting session of the Board will take place later. You will be notified by mail of the Board’s decision.

Top of Page






Finance Home   |   Alabama Directory   |   Media   |   Online Services   |   Alabama.gov   |   Alerts   |   Feeds
Governor's Site   |   Translation Services:   German (Deutsch)   |   Japanese 日本語   |   Korean 한국어   |   Spanish (Español)