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EXAMPLES OF SUPPORTING DOCUMENTATION 
 

The burden of proof rests with the Claimant.  Submittal of supporting documentation is the responsibility of the 
Claimant and not the Board of Adjustment or the state agency against which the claim is filed.  
 
Documentation may include, but is not limited to, the following: 
 
1.  MISCELLANEOUS/OTHER EXPENSES.  Evidence to support and substantiate whatever miscellaneous 
expenses the Claimant chooses to claim. Examples: unpaid invoices from a prior fiscal year, purchase orders, copy of 
contract, travel vouchers, emergency letters, etc.  Expenses incurred for travel 1/1/2005 40.5 cents/mile; 9/1/2005 48.5 
cents/mile; 1/1/2006 44.5 cents/mile; 1/1/2007 48.5 cents/mile; 1/1/2008 50.5 cents/mile; 7/1/2008 58.5 cents/mile; 
1/1/2009 55 cents/mile.  Provide complete explanation of expenses claimed. 
 
2.  STATUTE OF LIMITATIONS.  Claims must be presented to the Board of Adjustment within one year after the 
date of the cause of action or date the account was due to be paid according to payment terms of the invoice.   
 
The Board of Adjustment will not make awards for damage or injuries covered by private insurance.  Complete 
information pertaining to insurance coverage must be included with the Claim Form. 
 
Mail completed claim forms and all documentation to: 
 

STATE OF ALABAMA BOARD OF ADJUSTMENT 
600 DEXTER AVENUE, SUITE E-302 

MONTGOMERY, AL 36130-1435 
TELEPHONE (334) 242-7175/FAX (334) 242-2008 
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State of Alabama 
BOARD OF ADJUSTMENT 

Instructions for Filing a Claim with the Board of Adjustment 
 

VENDOR’S CLAIM FOR PAYMENT 
 
Claims filed against departments, boards, commissions and instrumentalities of the State of Alabama must be filed on 
the Claim Forms approved by the Board of Adjustment.  Claims filed on other forms or Claims not meeting the 
following criteria WILL NOT BE ACCEPTED AND WILL BE RETURNED to the Claimant. 
 

1. Claims filed on a photocopied or faxed copy of a blank or uncompleted Claim Form will be accepted for filing 
ONLY if all parts of the Claim Form appear on the copy.  All entries made by a Claimant on the Claim Form 
should be printed in ink or typewritten. 

 
2. You must file the original Claim Form with the Board.  Copies of any supporting Documentation must be 

included with the Claim Form.   
 

3. The Claimant’s name, address and Social Security Number (FEIN if a business) must be included in the 
spaces provided.  If the Board of Adjustment authorizes an award, a check cannot be issued without this 
information.  Claims without SSNs or FEINs cannot be processed and will be returned to the Claimant. 

 
4. STATUTE OF LIMITATIONS.  State Law prohibits the Board of Adjustment from considering most types of 

claims that arose more than one year before the date the Claim is filed with the Board.  Generally, the Claim 
Form must be received in the Board’s office within one year from the date of the account was due to be paid 
according to payment terms of invoice.  Section B.1. and B.2. on the Claim Form must be completed. 
Completed Claim Forms may be faxed to the Board, within 30 days of the statute of limitations, only to 
establish the Date of Filing, however a Claim Form with original signatures must be filed with the Board within 
(10) days; otherwise, the Claim will be barred by statute and returned to you. 

 
5. STATEMENT.  The Statement of Facts [Section B.3.] must be completed so that the department the Claim is 

filed against can understand the basis of the Claim.  The State agency the claim is filed against must also be 
included. 

 

6. EXPENSES.  Itemize all expenses claimed in section C.  Include only those expenses that are specific to your 
claim.   

 
7. SIGNATURES.  The Claim must be signed and the information that you provide verified as truthful under oath 

before a notary public.  Claim Forms not containing both original signatures will be returned.  Claims with 
photocopied signatures will not be accepted. 

 

8. SUPPORTING DOCUMENTATION.  The Claimant is responsible for including copies of all documents 
needed to support his/her Claim.  Examples of Supporting Documentation are listed on the reverse side. 

 
THE DEPARTMENT THE CLAIM IS FILED AGAINST HAS 30 DAYS AFTER RECEIVING A COPY OF THE 
CLAIM TO FILE AN ANSWER WITH THE BOARD ADMITTING LIABILITY OR DISPUTING THE CLAIM. 
The Board of Adjustment staff cannot settle your claim for you.  The Board does not have money with which to 
pay claims.  The payment of claims is the responsibility of the department the Claim is filed against ONLY IF 
liability is admitted by the department or determined by the Board. 


